Starting today, it is against the law to text while driving in Michigan.
The new law, which was signed by Governor Granholm in April, bans sending, typing or reading text messages or e-mails while driving.
State Trooper Rich Tucker of the Alpena Post told True North Radio that statistics have shown drivers distracted by text messages or emails are four times more likely to be involved in an accident and those accidents tend to be more serious in nature.
“Text messaging or emailing draws the drivers attention and concentration away from road,” said Tucker.
A first offense will cost $100 and repeat offenders will pay $200. Texting is also a primary offense under Michigan’s law, meaning police can pull over motorists solely for using phones to send or read text messages.
Michigan is the 24th state to ban drivers from texting. In 2009, 947 drivers in Michigan were using their cell phones at the time of an accident.