Home » Local News, Rotating Features

Oscoda 1 of 19 declared disasters due to flooding

Submitted by Phil Heimerl on March 13, 2018 – 12:44 amNo Comment

Disaster declarations have been made for 17 Michigan counties and two cities hit hard by recent flooding from heavy rain and melting snow.

Gov. Rick Snyder’s office says Monday’s declarations make state resources available to those areas, including grants of up to $100,000 for reimbursement of local response costs to the February 19-21 flooding.

The state police Emergency Management and Homeland Security Division is coordinating damage recovery efforts and working with local emergency management agencies in the areas affected by the flooding.

Most of the counties hit by the flooding are downstate.  The only two in northeast Michigan include Oscoda and Ogemaw.

The remaining counties include Allegan, Arenac, Barry, Berrien, Cass, Clare, Eaton, Ingham, Ionia, Kalamazoo, Kent, Mecosta, Newaygo, Ottawa and St. Joseph.  Declarations also were made for Lansing and Grand Rapids.

RSS feed


No comments yet.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.